Books I Read in March

March was an okay reading month. I only read five books during the entire month, which is fine; I am not in a competition to see how many books I can read. The month started out strong, but devolved into Agatha Christie novels. Which is not a bad thing! I love Agatha Christie novels! And the three I read this month were some of my favorites of her canon. But there was nothing particularly exciting about the month, is I guess what I mean. Plus, one of the books I read was kind of disappointing. 

Only one of my March reads was a physical book. One was an audiobook and three were ebooks. Only one author was new to me. 

Best Book of the Month

Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin: This was my favorite book of March by FAR. I was skeptical about picking this one up, considering it’s about video gaming, a topic that does not interest me. But I ended up LOVING IT. You can read my full review here

Perfectly Solid Books

The Twist of a Knife by Anthony Horowitz: I have been eagerly awaiting this book since I finished the third book in the series. This wasn’t my favorite – and, in fact, I had to look up the synopsis because I couldn’t remember a thing about it except that Anthony Horowitz (the character) is a murder suspect. It was a fine book, engaging and full of suspects who all seem equally likely to have murdered the victim. I like that we saw a little movement in the relationship between Horowitz and Detective Hawthorne. 

Peril at End House by Agatha Christie: I went on vacation in March and took my Kindle with me, after packing it full of novels. This was the one that held my attention, and it led – as Christie books so often do – to more Christie books. In it, Poirot has to figure out why lively Nick Buckley keeps finding herself in the middle of life-threatening incidents. I usually prefer Miss Marple to Hercule Poirot, but I liked this one quite a bit.

One, Two, Buckle My Shoe by Agatha Christie: Dr. Morley dies in his dental suite – but Hercule Poirot, one of his patients, isn’t sure that his dentist died by suicide the way the evidence seems to point. This was a fun one and I enjoyed it a lot.

The Hollow by Agatha Christie: A man dies while visiting friends for the weekend, and Hercule Poirot has to figure out who among the visitors wanted him dead. I loved this one because it had such vivid portrayals of all of the characters, and, partly, because Poirot played such a small role in the novel.

14 thoughts on “Books I Read in March

  1. How timely b/c I just finished the book that I was reading and Agatha is my girl. I read ALL of her books in junior high, but I don’t remember any of these titles. Also I’m totally Team Marple. Poirot just never did it for me.

    I plan to read Tomorrow x 3 but I’m being stubborn and waiting for my Libby hold to come in.

    Like

  2. I have only read a handful of Agatha Christie books and they aren’t really my jam, but I do appreciate her place in the vanguard of a genre.

    So far my April has been full of disappointing reads, but it only takes one good book to turn things around, so hopefully that will happen soon.

    Like

  3. I’m afraid to read Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow because of the video game stuff, but maybe I should give it a try?? A Twist of the Knife wasn’t my favorite in this series, but they are quick reads and I continue coming back.

    Like

    • I think the video game stuff could be potentially divisive. Some people really hate it. But it didn’t bother me at all, and instead felt like I was being given a sneak peek into a world I’m not normally part of.

      Like

Leave a comment